Famous Dave’s

If this is really going to be a food blog, then I have to write the food in my life, and not just the fancy meals. I went to Famous Dave’s in North Olmsted for lunch today after dropping stuff at the “transition apartment.”

Don’t get me wrong, I have been to many a nice place.

I’ve eaten at Peller Estates Winery at in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario.

I’ve eaten at Cindy’s Backstreet Kitchen in Napa, California.

But, I also like a good cheeseburger from Five Guys Burgers and Fries. I can fill my face full of Rally’s french fries. I think the Seafood Brodetto at Olive Garden ($16.50) is the best fish soup I’ve had in a long time.

So, there’s that.

I had the Two-Meat Combo (Barbeque Chicken and Hot Link Sausage) with Jalapeno Mac-N-Cheese and Garlic Mashed Potatoes.

First off, Famous Dave’s knows a thing or two about sausage. It has a good amount of flavor, balanced spicing, and just the right amount of snap when you cut into it. Dip it into some of their Texas Pit BBQ Sauce and you won’t be disappointed.

The chicken was decent but not extraordinary. It’s a split breast (bone-in), with a bit of wing left on for good measure. The sauce was pretty good, but the chicken could have been a bit moister. Enough said.

The macaroni and cheese was delightful and served in just the right amount. I take my macaroni and cheese very seriously, and this scores a 6.8 on the mac-o-meter. The cheese wasn’t grainy, but I like a bit more gooey-ness in my mac. Every once in a while, you get a crunch of jalapeno to make it exciting.

Overall, a rather enjoyable meal. If you have a Famous Dave’s around, stop by every now and then. The chains need a bit of loving, too.

About Gerard

Fun-loving, well-read foodie.
This entry was posted in barbeque, restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment